HomeХобби и стильRelated VideosMore From: GlamFam

Red by Kiss Pencil Iron UNSPONSORED review *BRAND NEW*

724 ratings | 6578 views
Interested in getting one or knowing more? Here's the link: https://amzn.to/2qnAiZV Hey GlamFam! Thank you so much for watching! I hope that you find this review helpful, concise, and informative! I was so excited when I found out about this iron and I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Naturally, I wanted to do a review so you could know the pros and cons in an UNSPONSORED review. These irons were purchased with my own money, and despite the cons, I still feel like the price on this iron was FANTASTIC compared to the (current) competition. **FTC notice** While this review is not sponsored, the link for the iron is an amazon affiliate link. This means, if you click on the link and purchase anything from amazon, I am potentially eligible to earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. These funds allow us to afford purchasing products to review, as well as recording equipment for these videos. As always, thank you so much for your support and viewership! Until next time GlamFam, take care, God bless, and Stay Glam!! Linwood All background music is from the Youtube Library.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (143)
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Hey Glambassadors! I hope you are having an AMAZING day! What are your thoughts on this review?? Stay Glam y’all! Linwood
I AM ClearAsCrystal (16 days ago)
Hey Glam Fam, I need help! I Sent an email to your business address and I really hope you guys can help. I'm so embarrassed lol
Holy high Rollers (17 days ago)
GlamFam as alwaysssss...thank you sir for your thorough review👍🏽 you know what, I wished we could've seen you using the iron, but maybe next time. Best to you & your fam. I love tuning into your family's channel.
Sincere Presence (18 days ago)
This review scare the crap outta me!! I was frowning at the screen wondering whyyyyyyyy u would want that especially on a client. No temp control so it can go to 450 (devil's temperature 😉) and no one will know until u see smoke 🤯 Aaaand the outside gets burning hot? Oh noooooo! If I didn't (now) have locs no one could pay me to get that thAng, lol! When u said it burned a client ... I gasp like I saw someone smack their momma! 🤣
R Oki (18 days ago)
+GlamFam I agree just like lash inserts on mascara commercials! So wrong.... that wig was so wrong.
GlamFam (18 days ago)
I’m hoping they add those features on this one, I would be committed to this iron at that point! Lol
Jackie Hazel (2 days ago)
Thanks so much for sharing! ,I was considering getting a mini iron for new growth, can't wait till your next vlog! ✋💞
Schumetta Jackson (2 days ago)
hello, new subbie here!!! I bought this cutzy flat iron when it first came out, I was so excited to finally have a flat iron for short short hiar. I agree, my drawback is the "no" heat control. Other than that, it is Ok!!!
Lilly Johnson (7 days ago)
Is the Japanese straightening system safe on black hair? Is it as damaging in the long run as normal relaxers?
Help! I put Henna on my hair to cover grey 2 months ago. Will not do again. I've noticed lots of shedding, so could that be a result of demarcation or the Henna itself?
Moonbeam DeVoria (9 days ago)
Thank you for keeping it Real👍🏾
Danny Williams (9 days ago)
Thank you !🙌🏾 I was just on amazon considering buying these !
Tarina Brooks (9 days ago)
I have one I have used it on both fine and thick hair clients I only do one pass or curling for thin hair clients thicker hair clients it’s the bomb I am a licensed hairdresser I got mine from Amazon.com back in September haven’t burned any clients I absolutely love mine😀
Rochelle Lang (14 days ago)
Can we see a demo sir?
Li'Aiesha Brandon (14 days ago)
Hello Linwood. I have been following you and your beautiful family for a while and I am so grateful for all you do and I just want to thank you for bringing such great education to your audience. I will be graduating next year as a licensed Cosmetologist. I have been doing hair since I was 9 (27 now lol) but I wanted to get my license to polish/master my craft and be a part of the movement of really elevating our profession and allowing people to see the true value and artistry of what we do. Now that I’m done rambling lol I would love your thoughts on how to go about searching for the “best place to work” straight out of school. Would it be best for a person to start off with booth rent? Or commission? If commission, what would be a realistic AND idealist commission structure? Should I shoot for the stars and ask for all amenities in that commission structure etc.
Rosemary Arrington (14 days ago)
Thank but no thanks Linwood. No temperature control. What were they thinking ? Great concept though.
YouTube With K&C (15 days ago)
I really enjoyed the hair meeting you taught on Sunday it was funny petty and full of positive vibes keep up the work❣❣
GlamFam (15 days ago)
Aww thank you so very much! I greatly appreciate you coming out!!
fran00seven (15 days ago)
Hugs from Brazil Luv the way u outapoken boutique things im into. Thanks bro
Alicia R. Miller (15 days ago)
What about Silky Salon Smooth Hair professional hair straightener? www.deaconbuy.com
Khloe (16 days ago)
hi there i remember you at the hair show in Texas you might not have noticed me but i had puffy hair i hope i see you again
Moneek Small (16 days ago)
No temperature dial=deal breaker
Jovan Hines (17 days ago)
I love your tips But have anybody told u, u look like Miguel the singer. I just watched his Skywalker video & I was like dang he look like linwood 🤣🤣🤣
ToriZee (17 days ago)
They almost had me at swivel cord until I saw no temp gauge!
Princessa G (17 days ago)
Too bad about the non existent temperature control but I totally love how narrow it is.
Ja-Nee Reviews (17 days ago)
Great video. 😊
GlamFam (17 days ago)
Thank you kindly!
Samya Richards (18 days ago)
I bought it a month ago. I love it.
M M (18 days ago)
Thanks for the review and congrats on getting to 200K subscribers.
Shawanda Arroyovega (18 days ago)
HEY LINWOOD!!!!!!... Great video!!!!
Crystal Now (18 days ago)
I love this
Selena Ricks (18 days ago)
No thank you. I'm-ma not using that iron on my natural hair'ya GlamFam. Love review tho'.
sc3140 (18 days ago)
Great review thx 4 sharing!
FaerieSensai (18 days ago)
No temp dial; no buy 🤷🏽‍♀️ PS: looooooovvvvvvvveeeeeeeee the YouTube award making an appearance 😋
LINDA SMITH (18 days ago)
Thanks 🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺
idontcarrotall (18 days ago)
Alison cut her hair?!?
M Bell (18 days ago)
yes I agree with you..I was connecting with someone on Instagram and I inquired about the temperature control and that's what change my mind ..but didn't think about the outside becoming hot also ..thanks your awesome
Wig king (18 days ago)
Most times small irons like that don't give you a temperature dial
GlamFam (18 days ago)
I have a half inch iron by Shiva that has a digital thermostat, it’s my hope that they will incorporate it in this iron as well 😊👍🏽
Nay-A-Zha (18 days ago)
I’m taking a moment of silence..... BYE WIG !
GlamFam (18 days ago)
😂😂
Nickie Rasberry (18 days ago)
Interesting but not for me☺
GlamFam (18 days ago)
I totally understand!
Quita Trice (18 days ago)
That no temp dial is a deal breaker. I'm natural and I do not want heat damage or scalp burn. But good luck.
Phyllissa Bilal (18 days ago)
Love learning from this channel. Miss the pettiness with you and Allison though. Where is my girl???? :( It's my birthday weekend Allison!!!! Can I get a bday date night look video from you and Linwood?
Phyllissa Bilal (18 days ago)
Don't forget to add the pettiness. 😁
Tracia DeMello (18 days ago)
no dial is very concerning. setting yourself up for severe burns.
Robyn Stewart (18 days ago)
Great review. You told me 2 things that make this a definite “no” for me: No temperature dial and that the outside of the barrel gets very hot. Thanks for saving me money! Love you all❤️❤️❤️🌹
Monique allen (18 days ago)
I like the thought of it being able to get my edges and kitchen but I think I'm gonna wait to purchase to see if they would upgrade it a little
Tululla Williams (18 days ago)
I know this has nothing to do with this video, but does prepooing your hair with oil actually do anything for more coily textured hair? cuz I don't want to waste oil and wait 45 mins to wash my hair.
sw33tnycandy (14 days ago)
It does help. It prevents hair from being totally stripped and bare when washing.
Fay Samuel (18 days ago)
Not for me I'm afraid but great review. Blessings as always x
sdm Randle (18 days ago)
Thanks for the review. This is one product I don’t have to waste money on! No heat level dial and the outside sound like it get as hot as the iron, no thanks.
Rae Raequisha (18 days ago)
Thank you for the info because knowing is caring!!!! I keep my mom's hair fabulous!! She's my guinea pig as well!! That being said..... I would have probably burned her while trying out my new gadget and ended up getting the momma look!!! (woo!...flash back) Love watching you!!! YOU ROCK! RAE
I like your shirt!
Rachele Smith (18 days ago)
Can you do a video on how to refresh old box braids?
La Donna (18 days ago)
Nah! I'll stick to my CHI. I can control the temperature with a CHI.
Michelle Hamilton (18 days ago)
Hey GlamFam!!!! Checking in!
LaTissia (18 days ago)
Thank you! This was such an excellent review...but I wish they would've had someone such as yourself to put this to the test before they even put it out there for consumers to purchase this type of flat iron...that way they could've gone back to the drawing board and made the necessary adjustments to make this a great product.... coming from a person that can't stand to get her naps and scalp burnt lol. I hope the Kiss company sees this excellent and honest review.
gigiobagigio94 (18 days ago)
Can you review the Dyson airwrap? <3 <3
sw33tnycandy (17 days ago)
I saw a black YouTuber review that 500 curling iron. End result of it was that it's a no go on type three and four hair. It's more of a blow drying curler so ethnic hair will need to be prestraightend and some sort of moose product for it to work well. From all the reviews I've seen on it, it gave the best results on hair that is pin straight to wavey.
Rowena Sanders (18 days ago)
TEACH Teacher!!!
AKPoetry67 (18 days ago)
Excellent review Linwood! I have fine hair so this wood not work for me. :)
Miss Mena (18 days ago)
No sir!! dont you do this!! My paycheck is already gone!! Ugh now I got get some loan money for a mini flat iron 😭😂 weird that it has no temp dial tho 🤔
Rande Thorman (18 days ago)
I have the 1/2 inch Ceramic Tourmaline one. I love it. I love that it bevels. But the same drawbacks, short cord, no auto turn off, no temp dial and the outside gets hot too. I never burned anyone in school, thankfully. I haven't used it since school because most of the clients I have now have long hair. I got it on Amazon for $15 everyone else got them at a random beauty supply store for $30. Knowing what I know about the 1/2 inch I don't think I'd get this one.
Bethlatee Washington (18 days ago)
Thank you for the review was going to get but now it going to me a no lol
Tara Walker (18 days ago)
Sounds like issa no for me, dawg. 🤣🤣
L G (18 days ago)
Ok not burning my face/hands or temp. dial.
NaturalHaired BeautyTv (18 days ago)
I have one like this. It's not the pencil one and it's kinda old so I'm nervous to use it on my hair. I used it on my natural hair a few weeks ago. I only did one section though because I became a big chicken 😂
Jojo X (18 days ago)
Great review!
Roxie1225 (18 days ago)
So basically it’s like a hot comb in flat iron form. No temperature gauge and you playing Russian roulette hoping you will be left with some edges and your scalp intact. They should go back to the drawing board with this one because that is a HUGE design flaw right along with the outer part getting hot and the no auto shut off.
Enviii MsWorthy (18 days ago)
What is the highest degree of heat that should be used on relaxed hair??
MakeupMenaree (18 days ago)
SUPER FASHIONABLY LATE!!
Felicia Dunn (18 days ago)
Thanks for the wonderful review!
Cheryl Moore (18 days ago)
Thanks for the heads up. That's too much uncontrolled risk for me. I just big chopped my hair from heat damage 🔥 and I was not a frequent heat user. For me having the auto shut off would be of high concern. Again thanks for the review. Much love to you and the family. ✌🏽
TheBunnyBeatdown (18 days ago)
What's the difference between titanium and ceramic plates in your flat iron? What difference do they make in straightening/curling hair? I have a 1" babyliss titanium pro flat iron and I also have a 1" Remington ceramic flat iron (for my wigs since it ranged between 310-410)
TheBunnyBeatdown (18 days ago)
Also when you go from a salon long cord (babyliss), you struggle with anything else
Sharon Browne (18 days ago)
The iron burnt your client? REALLY, Linwood...really?! LOL Jokes Linwood, please don't come for me. I'm joking. 😎😎😁😉😎
Miss Mena (18 days ago)
😂😂😂😂
Sharon Browne (18 days ago)
+GlamFam Oh my goodness...you know you're crazy. LOL I enjoy your channel. By the way, I'm not buying that iron; IT burns people. 😉😉😉
GlamFam (18 days ago)
😂😂🤣 ok fine, truth is that client said my momma was a hoochie so there were debts to be paid and hands to be laid 😂😂 Have a great day dear!
Livi Renea (18 days ago)
I'm watching to support, but me and that iron wouldn't get on so well. My hair is on the shorter side and I don't need 2nd degree burns trying to style it. Noooope!
Cynthia Cummings (18 days ago)
Wait, no temperature gauge? 😲 Uuuummm, never mind. No thanks. As you've said, at that temp, you could burn your hair out.
Cynthia Cummings (18 days ago)
My cousin used to get pencil curls (bumps) all the time. You just use a rat tail comb to hold the piece in place and curl. Literally takes only a second or so. The comb keeps the iron off your scalp. You wouldn't get burned.
GlamFam (18 days ago)
I feel you! With the necessary improvements, I would be a ride or die though!
Mica (18 days ago)
thank you!
GlamFam (18 days ago)
My pleasure! Thanks for watching!
Judith D Magrini (18 days ago)
Thanks for the review. I'm looking to buy a flat iron. This was helpful.
GlamFam (18 days ago)
My absolute pleasure dear! Thanks so much for watching!
Transformation (18 days ago)
No temp dial = no buying. Thanks for review
GlamFam (18 days ago)
My pleasure! My sentiments exactly, I need a temperature control for sure!
R Oki (18 days ago)
Good Morning! Thanks for the honest review!
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Good morning! My joy!
sw33tnycandy (18 days ago)
Awesome. I don't think I'll cave for this iron but it's good to know that Kiss makes some quality irons for cheap.
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Yeah I was surprised the iron was so inexpensive for sure. Have an amazing day!
mszstacynich (18 days ago)
Good morning!!!! My only fear with product is that i could burn myself unintentionally. Blessings to you and your family!
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Yeah, I feel you, I need them to make the iron out of a better material to assist with moderating the heat outside the iron.
embrace n reborns (18 days ago)
Very informative review thanks for sharing
GlamFam (18 days ago)
My pleasure! Thanks for watching!
Kristi bv Hale (18 days ago)
Morning linwood
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Good morning!! 😊💚
KOREE KASH (18 days ago)
Ugh did you hack my phone? How did you know I was literally just googling this iron 😂👌🏾
KOREE KASH (18 days ago)
+GlamFam oh thanks for that. I've been looking at vids on it but they super old and not very informative 😂
GlamFam (18 days ago)
One of our other viewers said in the comments on this video that they have the root straightener and they love it, that it has the temperature dial and all that. Hopefully that serves as some sort of helpful information for you there. I’ve been wondering about that iron myself.
KOREE KASH (18 days ago)
+GlamFam yea hopefully they do. They was on to something because who paying almost 200$ for an occasional use flat iron. I really wanna try that root straightener tho
GlamFam (18 days ago)
I’m hoping they improve it, if they do I’d be willing to give it another shot! 😊💙
KOREE KASH (18 days ago)
+GlamFam lol i was thinking the same thing. But now not so much 😂 and thanks for the info I couldn't find if it had a temp control or not. And you have a good day as well ☺👍🏾
Latisa Wooten (18 days ago)
Good morning!!! Nice iron!! TFS!! ❤️❤️
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Good morning! How are you today dear?
Sinndy Morr (18 days ago)
Up to 450 degrees? Sounds like a thumbs down. I dont use heat but that scares me.
GlamFam (18 days ago)
You know I love and breathe pettiness, so I definitely couldn’t make exceptions on this lol! I honestly would rather pay more and get better quality though.
Sinndy Morr (18 days ago)
+GlamFam The product is affordable. If it had more features and cool to the touch exterior the price would be higher. Ya, for a dose of petty..cracks me up when companies cant use photos of real hair after its styled with the product in the package.
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Yeah I need them to have a temperature control, 450 isn’t suitable for MOST heads of hair.
lmvicente1 (18 days ago)
Thank you for the great review. I believe you covered everything that all consumers would need to know before purchasing this product. Have a blessed day and keep up the great work.
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Thanks! You have a blessed day also! Thank you kindly for watching!
ShayJohns73 (18 days ago)
Do stylists still use marcel irons?
Ron Williams (18 days ago)
+GlamFam True Glam but you do know that those do work the best and they will give you the best press and the press will last a lot longer and the curls come out better, How Ever they do take up a lot of space. They are heavy as hell to. It has just been in the last 15 years that you can use anything other than the Marcel irons to get good results on black hair. By the way I love your work and I love your channel! Tell your wife Ron from Los Angeles I've Been doing hair since 1966 lol, I was 16 when I started. tell her I said hello and that she is a good sport for trying out all of those wigs and Hair pieces. Love your spirit man!
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Amen honey! That thing would turn my room into a HOTBOX! 😂
ShayJohns73 (18 days ago)
+GlamFam oh okay that makes sense, that stove in the summer time is no joke lol
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Yes ma’am, many do. I barely do, they aren’t as conditioning for the hair, and the stoves massively heat up your work space. Plus the rack and set of irons takes up a massive amount of space in the salon. I only bring mine to work and use them by special request.
Polla Bolla (18 days ago)
Good Morning. What do you think about the GHD flat iron?
GlamFam (18 days ago)
My joy! 😊👍🏽
Polla Bolla (18 days ago)
+GlamFam Oh wow! Thanks!
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Paul Mitchell’s Nano iron, babyliss Black nano titanium iron, the Chi iron, The Sam Villa ceramic iron. On top of that, most of those, with the exception of the Sam villa iron, are at a better price point as well.
Polla Bolla (18 days ago)
+GlamFam What's the competition? I'm looking for a quality iron for when I DO add heat to my hair.
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Good morning! I think it’s a quality iron, but I honestly wish it weren’t so bulbous, it’s a bit large compared to the competition.
Carolyn Carey (18 days ago)
Great vlog, love the review.
GlamFam (18 days ago)
Thanks so much, Thanks for watching!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.