HomeХобби и стильRelated VideosMore From: GlamFam

Red by Kiss Pencil Iron UNSPONSORED review *BRAND NEW*

779 ratings | 8325 views
Interested in getting one or knowing more? Here's the link: https://amzn.to/2qnAiZV Hey GlamFam! Thank you so much for watching! I hope that you find this review helpful, concise, and informative! I was so excited when I found out about this iron and I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Naturally, I wanted to do a review so you could know the pros and cons in an UNSPONSORED review. These irons were purchased with my own money, and despite the cons, I still feel like the price on this iron was FANTASTIC compared to the (current) competition. **FTC notice** While this review is not sponsored, the link for the iron is an amazon affiliate link. This means, if you click on the link and purchase anything from amazon, I am potentially eligible to earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. These funds allow us to afford purchasing products to review, as well as recording equipment for these videos. As always, thank you so much for your support and viewership! Until next time GlamFam, take care, God bless, and Stay Glam!! Linwood All background music is from the Youtube Library.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (157)
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Hey Glambassadors! I hope you are having an AMAZING day! What are your thoughts on this review?? Stay Glam y’all! Linwood
I AM ClearAsCrystal (2 months ago)
Hey Glam Fam, I need help! I Sent an email to your business address and I really hope you guys can help. I'm so embarrassed lol
Holy high Rollers (2 months ago)
GlamFam as alwaysssss...thank you sir for your thorough review👍🏽 you know what, I wished we could've seen you using the iron, but maybe next time. Best to you & your fam. I love tuning into your family's channel.
Sincere Presence (2 months ago)
This review scare the crap outta me!! I was frowning at the screen wondering whyyyyyyyy u would want that especially on a client. No temp control so it can go to 450 (devil's temperature 😉) and no one will know until u see smoke 🤯 Aaaand the outside gets burning hot? Oh noooooo! If I didn't (now) have locs no one could pay me to get that thAng, lol! When u said it burned a client ... I gasp like I saw someone smack their momma! 🤣
R Oki (2 months ago)
+GlamFam I agree just like lash inserts on mascara commercials! So wrong.... that wig was so wrong.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
I’m hoping they add those features on this one, I would be committed to this iron at that point! Lol
Morgan Ross-Brown (5 days ago)
It's nice for getting your roots & edges nice. They have another one & it doesn't have a temp dial either.
Missy Nomvula (9 days ago)
Thanks for the review. I would like more review/ instructional videos from you. You give such valuable information. Your haircare and styling techniques don't need anybody's confirmation. You are the king of that!
Sincere Presence (21 days ago)
Have that thing on for 10 minutes, not only will the hair FRY yet we get Burnt Face ala carte! No thanks Red by Kiss Pencil 😡!!
GlamFam (21 days ago)
Right?! Hard pass.
STEPHANIE Thompson (27 days ago)
What about the ceramic one that they have
GlamFam (26 days ago)
No temperature control on it either, until they change that, I won’t be buying one
missminaj9 (1 month ago)
Can you do a review on plug 🔌 in hot combs I’m tryna find a good brand that gets really hot
Jeeya (1 month ago)
Hey Linwood, would love to see you blow out Zan's hair with the Revair! Has the company sent you one to review? They seem to be shipping them out to YouTubers like candy right about now...😸
Jeeya (1 month ago)
+GlamFam You guys are not on the bus! Speak it into existence! 😁😁🤣 Revair really should partner with you as a professional. Your review counts for so much more. On the flip side, they may be afraid that if u don't like it, folks may hesitate to buy it. I ordered the bundle deal on black Friday for 100 dollars off. I'll give Revair 30 days, and if it's not exemplary, back it goes! 😸
GlamFam (1 month ago)
I wish they would, I have been interested, but that price tag had me like “I’ll let y’all bigger YouTubers review that” 😂😂 my channel is financially still on the bus and their channels are financially on luxury vehicles so.... 😂
Daphne Smith (1 month ago)
That was a great review...I'm always afraid of the no dial thing and short cord for the shop, etc amazing info..but in a pinch...don't forget get the white cloth/paper to check for too high heat...old school in the house
Mary J Flanagan (1 month ago)
I was going to buy this, but wondered if it had temp control. I have lost hair with too hot, cheap irons. House of Beauty sales it and I was wondering about that wig on the box. Thanks for your review.
GlamFam (1 month ago)
Such a pleasure! Thanks for watching!
Jackie Hazel (2 months ago)
Thanks so much for sharing! ,I was considering getting a mini iron for new growth, can't wait till your next vlog! ✋💞
Schumetta Jackson (2 months ago)
hello, new subbie here!!! I bought this cutzy flat iron when it first came out, I was so excited to finally have a flat iron for short short hiar. I agree, my drawback is the "no" heat control. Other than that, it is Ok!!!
Lilly Johnson (2 months ago)
Is the Japanese straightening system safe on black hair? Is it as damaging in the long run as normal relaxers?
Help! I put Henna on my hair to cover grey 2 months ago. Will not do again. I've noticed lots of shedding, so could that be a result of demarcation or the Henna itself?
Moonbeam DeVoria (2 months ago)
Thank you for keeping it Real👍🏾
Danny Williams (2 months ago)
Thank you !🙌🏾 I was just on amazon considering buying these !
Tarina Brooks (2 months ago)
I have one I have used it on both fine and thick hair clients I only do one pass or curling for thin hair clients thicker hair clients it’s the bomb I am a licensed hairdresser I got mine from Amazon.com back in September haven’t burned any clients I absolutely love mine😀
Rochelle Lang (2 months ago)
Can we see a demo sir?
Li'Aiesha Brandon (2 months ago)
Hello Linwood. I have been following you and your beautiful family for a while and I am so grateful for all you do and I just want to thank you for bringing such great education to your audience. I will be graduating next year as a licensed Cosmetologist. I have been doing hair since I was 9 (27 now lol) but I wanted to get my license to polish/master my craft and be a part of the movement of really elevating our profession and allowing people to see the true value and artistry of what we do. Now that I’m done rambling lol I would love your thoughts on how to go about searching for the “best place to work” straight out of school. Would it be best for a person to start off with booth rent? Or commission? If commission, what would be a realistic AND idealist commission structure? Should I shoot for the stars and ask for all amenities in that commission structure etc.
Rosemary Arrington (2 months ago)
Thank but no thanks Linwood. No temperature control. What were they thinking ? Great concept though.
YouTube With K&C (2 months ago)
I really enjoyed the hair meeting you taught on Sunday it was funny petty and full of positive vibes keep up the work❣❣
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Aww thank you so very much! I greatly appreciate you coming out!!
fran00seven (2 months ago)
Hugs from Brazil Luv the way u outapoken boutique things im into. Thanks bro
Alicia R. Miller (2 months ago)
What about Silky Salon Smooth Hair professional hair straightener? www.deaconbuy.com
Khloe (2 months ago)
hi there i remember you at the hair show in Texas you might not have noticed me but i had puffy hair i hope i see you again
Moneek Small (2 months ago)
No temperature dial=deal breaker
Jovan Hines (2 months ago)
I love your tips But have anybody told u, u look like Miguel the singer. I just watched his Skywalker video & I was like dang he look like linwood 🤣🤣🤣
ToriZee (2 months ago)
They almost had me at swivel cord until I saw no temp gauge!
Princessa G (2 months ago)
Too bad about the non existent temperature control but I totally love how narrow it is.
Ja-Nee Reviews (2 months ago)
Great video. 😊
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Thank you kindly!
Samya Richards (2 months ago)
I bought it a month ago. I love it.
M M (2 months ago)
Thanks for the review and congrats on getting to 200K subscribers.
Shawanda Arroyovega (2 months ago)
HEY LINWOOD!!!!!!... Great video!!!!
Crystal Now (2 months ago)
I love this
Selena Ricks (2 months ago)
No thank you. I'm-ma not using that iron on my natural hair'ya GlamFam. Love review tho'.
sc3140 (2 months ago)
Great review thx 4 sharing!
FaerieSensai (2 months ago)
No temp dial; no buy 🤷🏽‍♀️ PS: looooooovvvvvvvveeeeeeeee the YouTube award making an appearance 😋
LINDA SMITH (2 months ago)
Thanks 🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺
idontcarrotall (2 months ago)
Alison cut her hair?!?
M Bell (2 months ago)
yes I agree with you..I was connecting with someone on Instagram and I inquired about the temperature control and that's what change my mind ..but didn't think about the outside becoming hot also ..thanks your awesome
Wig king (2 months ago)
Most times small irons like that don't give you a temperature dial
GlamFam (2 months ago)
I have a half inch iron by Shiva that has a digital thermostat, it’s my hope that they will incorporate it in this iron as well 😊👍🏽
NayDay (2 months ago)
I’m taking a moment of silence..... BYE WIG !
GlamFam (2 months ago)
😂😂
Nickie Rasberry (2 months ago)
Interesting but not for me☺
GlamFam (2 months ago)
I totally understand!
Quita Trice (2 months ago)
That no temp dial is a deal breaker. I'm natural and I do not want heat damage or scalp burn. But good luck.
Phyllissa Bilal (2 months ago)
Love learning from this channel. Miss the pettiness with you and Allison though. Where is my girl???? :( It's my birthday weekend Allison!!!! Can I get a bday date night look video from you and Linwood?
Phyllissa Bilal (2 months ago)
Don't forget to add the pettiness. 😁
Tracia DeMello (2 months ago)
no dial is very concerning. setting yourself up for severe burns.
Robyn Stewart (2 months ago)
Great review. You told me 2 things that make this a definite “no” for me: No temperature dial and that the outside of the barrel gets very hot. Thanks for saving me money! Love you all❤️❤️❤️🌹
Monique allen (2 months ago)
I like the thought of it being able to get my edges and kitchen but I think I'm gonna wait to purchase to see if they would upgrade it a little
Tululla Williams (2 months ago)
I know this has nothing to do with this video, but does prepooing your hair with oil actually do anything for more coily textured hair? cuz I don't want to waste oil and wait 45 mins to wash my hair.
sw33tnycandy (2 months ago)
It does help. It prevents hair from being totally stripped and bare when washing.
Fay Samuel (2 months ago)
Not for me I'm afraid but great review. Blessings as always x
sdm Randle (2 months ago)
Thanks for the review. This is one product I don’t have to waste money on! No heat level dial and the outside sound like it get as hot as the iron, no thanks.
Rae Raequisha (2 months ago)
Thank you for the info because knowing is caring!!!! I keep my mom's hair fabulous!! She's my guinea pig as well!! That being said..... I would have probably burned her while trying out my new gadget and ended up getting the momma look!!! (woo!...flash back) Love watching you!!! YOU ROCK! RAE
I like your shirt!
Rachele Smith (2 months ago)
Can you do a video on how to refresh old box braids?
La Donna (2 months ago)
Nah! I'll stick to my CHI. I can control the temperature with a CHI.
Michelle Hamilton (2 months ago)
Hey GlamFam!!!! Checking in!
LaTissia (2 months ago)
Thank you! This was such an excellent review...but I wish they would've had someone such as yourself to put this to the test before they even put it out there for consumers to purchase this type of flat iron...that way they could've gone back to the drawing board and made the necessary adjustments to make this a great product.... coming from a person that can't stand to get her naps and scalp burnt lol. I hope the Kiss company sees this excellent and honest review.
gigiobagigio94 (2 months ago)
Can you review the Dyson airwrap? <3 <3
sw33tnycandy (2 months ago)
I saw a black YouTuber review that 500 curling iron. End result of it was that it's a no go on type three and four hair. It's more of a blow drying curler so ethnic hair will need to be prestraightend and some sort of moose product for it to work well. From all the reviews I've seen on it, it gave the best results on hair that is pin straight to wavey.
Rowena Sanders (2 months ago)
TEACH Teacher!!!
AKPoetry67 (2 months ago)
Excellent review Linwood! I have fine hair so this wood not work for me. :)
Miss Mena (2 months ago)
No sir!! dont you do this!! My paycheck is already gone!! Ugh now I got get some loan money for a mini flat iron 😭😂 weird that it has no temp dial tho 🤔
Rande Thorman (2 months ago)
I have the 1/2 inch Ceramic Tourmaline one. I love it. I love that it bevels. But the same drawbacks, short cord, no auto turn off, no temp dial and the outside gets hot too. I never burned anyone in school, thankfully. I haven't used it since school because most of the clients I have now have long hair. I got it on Amazon for $15 everyone else got them at a random beauty supply store for $30. Knowing what I know about the 1/2 inch I don't think I'd get this one.
Bethlatee Washington (2 months ago)
Thank you for the review was going to get but now it going to me a no lol
Tara Walker (2 months ago)
Sounds like issa no for me, dawg. 🤣🤣
L G (2 months ago)
Ok not burning my face/hands or temp. dial.
Naturally Eboni (2 months ago)
I have one like this. It's not the pencil one and it's kinda old so I'm nervous to use it on my hair. I used it on my natural hair a few weeks ago. I only did one section though because I became a big chicken 😂
Jojo X (2 months ago)
Great review!
Roxie1225 (2 months ago)
So basically it’s like a hot comb in flat iron form. No temperature gauge and you playing Russian roulette hoping you will be left with some edges and your scalp intact. They should go back to the drawing board with this one because that is a HUGE design flaw right along with the outer part getting hot and the no auto shut off.
Enviii MsWorthy (2 months ago)
What is the highest degree of heat that should be used on relaxed hair??
MakeupMenaree (2 months ago)
SUPER FASHIONABLY LATE!!
Felicia Dunn (2 months ago)
Thanks for the wonderful review!
Cheryl Moore (2 months ago)
Thanks for the heads up. That's too much uncontrolled risk for me. I just big chopped my hair from heat damage 🔥 and I was not a frequent heat user. For me having the auto shut off would be of high concern. Again thanks for the review. Much love to you and the family. ✌🏽
TheBunnyBeatdown (2 months ago)
What's the difference between titanium and ceramic plates in your flat iron? What difference do they make in straightening/curling hair? I have a 1" babyliss titanium pro flat iron and I also have a 1" Remington ceramic flat iron (for my wigs since it ranged between 310-410)
TheBunnyBeatdown (2 months ago)
Also when you go from a salon long cord (babyliss), you struggle with anything else
Sharon Browne (2 months ago)
The iron burnt your client? REALLY, Linwood...really?! LOL Jokes Linwood, please don't come for me. I'm joking. 😎😎😁😉😎
Miss Mena (2 months ago)
😂😂😂😂
Sharon Browne (2 months ago)
+GlamFam Oh my goodness...you know you're crazy. LOL I enjoy your channel. By the way, I'm not buying that iron; IT burns people. 😉😉😉
GlamFam (2 months ago)
😂😂🤣 ok fine, truth is that client said my momma was a hoochie so there were debts to be paid and hands to be laid 😂😂 Have a great day dear!
Livi Renea (2 months ago)
I'm watching to support, but me and that iron wouldn't get on so well. My hair is on the shorter side and I don't need 2nd degree burns trying to style it. Noooope!
Cynthia Cummings (2 months ago)
Wait, no temperature gauge? 😲 Uuuummm, never mind. No thanks. As you've said, at that temp, you could burn your hair out.
Cynthia Cummings (2 months ago)
My cousin used to get pencil curls (bumps) all the time. You just use a rat tail comb to hold the piece in place and curl. Literally takes only a second or so. The comb keeps the iron off your scalp. You wouldn't get burned.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
I feel you! With the necessary improvements, I would be a ride or die though!
Mica (2 months ago)
thank you!
GlamFam (2 months ago)
My pleasure! Thanks for watching!
Judith D Magrini (2 months ago)
Thanks for the review. I'm looking to buy a flat iron. This was helpful.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
My absolute pleasure dear! Thanks so much for watching!
Transformation (2 months ago)
No temp dial = no buying. Thanks for review
TarantulaCandy (8 days ago)
mmmhmm let them know.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
My pleasure! My sentiments exactly, I need a temperature control for sure!
R Oki (2 months ago)
Good Morning! Thanks for the honest review!
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Good morning! My joy!
sw33tnycandy (2 months ago)
Awesome. I don't think I'll cave for this iron but it's good to know that Kiss makes some quality irons for cheap.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Yeah I was surprised the iron was so inexpensive for sure. Have an amazing day!
mszstacynich (2 months ago)
Good morning!!!! My only fear with product is that i could burn myself unintentionally. Blessings to you and your family!
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Yeah, I feel you, I need them to make the iron out of a better material to assist with moderating the heat outside the iron.
embrace n reborns (2 months ago)
Very informative review thanks for sharing
GlamFam (2 months ago)
My pleasure! Thanks for watching!
Kristi bv Hale (2 months ago)
Morning linwood
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Good morning!! 😊💚
KOREE KASH (2 months ago)
Ugh did you hack my phone? How did you know I was literally just googling this iron 😂👌🏾
KOREE KASH (2 months ago)
+GlamFam oh thanks for that. I've been looking at vids on it but they super old and not very informative 😂
GlamFam (2 months ago)
One of our other viewers said in the comments on this video that they have the root straightener and they love it, that it has the temperature dial and all that. Hopefully that serves as some sort of helpful information for you there. I’ve been wondering about that iron myself.
KOREE KASH (2 months ago)
+GlamFam yea hopefully they do. They was on to something because who paying almost 200$ for an occasional use flat iron. I really wanna try that root straightener tho
GlamFam (2 months ago)
I’m hoping they improve it, if they do I’d be willing to give it another shot! 😊💙
KOREE KASH (2 months ago)
+GlamFam lol i was thinking the same thing. But now not so much 😂 and thanks for the info I couldn't find if it had a temp control or not. And you have a good day as well ☺👍🏾
Latisa Wooten (2 months ago)
Good morning!!! Nice iron!! TFS!! ❤️❤️
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Good morning! How are you today dear?
Sinndy Morr (2 months ago)
Up to 450 degrees? Sounds like a thumbs down. I dont use heat but that scares me.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
You know I love and breathe pettiness, so I definitely couldn’t make exceptions on this lol! I honestly would rather pay more and get better quality though.
Sinndy Morr (2 months ago)
+GlamFam The product is affordable. If it had more features and cool to the touch exterior the price would be higher. Ya, for a dose of petty..cracks me up when companies cant use photos of real hair after its styled with the product in the package.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Yeah I need them to have a temperature control, 450 isn’t suitable for MOST heads of hair.
LisaMarie (2 months ago)
Thank you for the great review. I believe you covered everything that all consumers would need to know before purchasing this product. Have a blessed day and keep up the great work.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Thanks! You have a blessed day also! Thank you kindly for watching!
ShayJohns73 (2 months ago)
Do stylists still use marcel irons?
Ron Williams (2 months ago)
+GlamFam True Glam but you do know that those do work the best and they will give you the best press and the press will last a lot longer and the curls come out better, How Ever they do take up a lot of space. They are heavy as hell to. It has just been in the last 15 years that you can use anything other than the Marcel irons to get good results on black hair. By the way I love your work and I love your channel! Tell your wife Ron from Los Angeles I've Been doing hair since 1966 lol, I was 16 when I started. tell her I said hello and that she is a good sport for trying out all of those wigs and Hair pieces. Love your spirit man!
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Amen honey! That thing would turn my room into a HOTBOX! 😂
ShayJohns73 (2 months ago)
+GlamFam oh okay that makes sense, that stove in the summer time is no joke lol
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Yes ma’am, many do. I barely do, they aren’t as conditioning for the hair, and the stoves massively heat up your work space. Plus the rack and set of irons takes up a massive amount of space in the salon. I only bring mine to work and use them by special request.
Polla Bolla (2 months ago)
Good Morning. What do you think about the GHD flat iron?
GlamFam (2 months ago)
My joy! 😊👍🏽
Polla Bolla (2 months ago)
+GlamFam Oh wow! Thanks!
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Paul Mitchell’s Nano iron, babyliss Black nano titanium iron, the Chi iron, The Sam Villa ceramic iron. On top of that, most of those, with the exception of the Sam villa iron, are at a better price point as well.
Polla Bolla (2 months ago)
+GlamFam What's the competition? I'm looking for a quality iron for when I DO add heat to my hair.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Good morning! I think it’s a quality iron, but I honestly wish it weren’t so bulbous, it’s a bit large compared to the competition.
Carolyn Carey (2 months ago)
Great vlog, love the review.
GlamFam (2 months ago)
Thanks so much, Thanks for watching!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.