HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: TheOutdoorGearReview

How Much? - Fjallraven Poncho - Preview and Test

226 ratings | 18853 views
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR Today we are taking a look at the Fjallraven Poncho. … These run around $123 dollars if you can find them in the United States. These are much easier to find outside of the country. I picked this one up at theclymb.com for $50 and it has been a fantastic purchase. I enjoy hiking and backpacking in the rain and this poncho does a great job at keeping me nice and dry. Material: 100% polyamide based Hydratic - breathability 5000g/m²/24h and waterproofness 5000mm Snaps on the side Unisex Weight: 391g or 13.7 oz Length from the shoulder : 48.4 inches or 123 centimeters ... Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures. http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/ .... Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229 Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev .....
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (34)
Tegnet (5 months ago)
I love how you muricans say fjällräven... As in räven becomes the bird. While it actually means Mountain Fox ;) Other than that, good review. I'm looking to buy one.
martincho8002 (2 years ago)
for that price it must be bear resistant also
martincho8002 (2 years ago)
Selling a poncho at this price really calls for at least one youtube video :)
ThaWord (3 years ago)
Do you prefer poncho's over jackets?
Gasho Simon (3 years ago)
That price ! wow... Everything Fjallraven is expensive... But the quality is unbelievable. 
pro Toyz (3 years ago)
never gonna hike again without a poncho! but 123$ is a price only fjallraven can charge ;) i´d recommend getting a cheaper one. military surplus usually got them much cheaper and they perform great as well but are heavier.
panzerabwerkanone (3 years ago)
Fjallraven gear only overnight adventure in the future please?  Only wish I had the money for their gear.  Mostly mil surplus for me. 
The Outdoor Project (3 years ago)
I have a question actually about the fjallraven barents pro trousers size. im actually 5,4 also, and my waist jeans size usually is 29x30, and ive always been ok with that. Im getting ready to order 2 pair, and from my research 44 is the size i should order, can you give me any sizing information?
fwaynedavis (3 years ago)
You did a great job of reviewing this, but I almost choked to death on my coffee when you said the price, The recession must be over and I didn't get the memo!
TheOutdoorGearReview (3 years ago)
+fwaynedavis Haha  I love good gear and I don't mind paying for it but I have to admit, at full retail price it's too much.  For the price I paid, I consider it worth it. - Luke
Val Strambu (3 years ago)
Good thing they didn't make it white...
Ed Cook (3 years ago)
That's not a bad piece of kit and I certainly agree with you about the usefulness of Poncho's. That being said with my style of hiking and camping the Swiss Army Poncho, (your review of 9 Sept. 2013) is my personal choice. Thanks for the reviews and keep them coming.
sinbad892 (3 years ago)
U pay for quality that's. It I no u can buy a poncho 4. Next 2 nothing but when u really need something 2 keep DRY it not gunna let u down. ATB Luke. Mac from across the pond.
Michael StJohn (3 years ago)
REVIEW of the next overnight adventure shelter.    :)
Gökcan Eray (3 years ago)
can i please get the name of the song? really nice
MrSimonj1970 (3 years ago)
$123?!!!!!!!! Ponchos cost about $2 in Thailand and work just fine! It's just a sheet of plastic with poppers on FFS, they must cost cents to make. Utterly ridiculous pricing.
Anders Hoel (3 months ago)
If you belive in it, the price is ok. Fjallraven is the highest tecnology in the world. Der is fantastish. Make money is not so hard for everybody.
Tegnet (5 months ago)
Its about durability. Every country has those 1$ concert ponchos. Stuff like this is made to be trusted. You don't want your poncho to start leaking or rip while you're far away from everything. So while the material may be about the same, the way they're put together makes a big difference.
VaylorexTV (3 years ago)
+TheOutdoorGearReview I bought the Poncho for 89 Bucks and I have to say that it's the best I've had so far. Compared to the Sea to Summit nano ( which costs roughly the same ) its so much better that you almost can't compare it. The Sea to Summit Poncho failed on me so many times.. I had to resew the tieouts and some seams around the hood and also some of the snaps got ripped out while walking through a storm - however that can happen.. I don't know. The Fjällräven Poncho however is very expensive but totally worth it's money. I've spent far more money on gear that didn't work half as good. That being said - Fjällrävens pricing is waaaaaaay over the top for most things they sell. You can spend over 500 Bucks for a pair of hiking pants.... what the hell?! Love the brand tho... got gaiters, backpack, poncho and a pair of pants and the quality is just unrivaled with Fjällräven... it is very expensive but it will last you a long time.
TheOutdoorGearReview (3 years ago)
+MrSimonj1970  I love good gear and I don't mind paying for it but I have to admit, at full retail price it's too much.  For the price I paid, I consider it worth it. Fjallraven offers some truly excellent gear but their prices are very much like those of Arc'teryx. - Luke
T.K. Archibald (3 years ago)
Some people just have more money than sense.
Opal Preston Shirley (3 years ago)
The only thing I would want different is OD green...I'm addicted what can I say. I'd definitly  need a good sale price but overall looks to be a good piece of kit. Thake care. atb
BangFlop (3 years ago)
too expensive for my blood
DpKxREVO (3 years ago)
I would put a little bit more more money and get the pathfinders poncho
Mr. A (3 years ago)
Thanks for a great review. I would have liked to see you try a backpack under the poncho to see how it works with a smaller and a bigger backpack. I agree with Key Lenny. It would be fun if you could have a swedish special with Fjallraven, Mora knife, Swedish firesteel, Primus stove, Haglofs boots and so on. :) Keep up the good work.
Bubba Love (3 years ago)
hope you din't show up on weather radar!  haha     bubba
blackboardbloke (3 years ago)
That's a lot of money for a poncho, but they are essential kit to have in your pack, and on a day walk I always carry at least one, a lightweight one for three seasons and heavier military surplus in winter. Even if you have good foul weather gear, you have another barrier to put over yourself which will help insulate you and keep your pack dry, If your poncho is long enough, it will overhang your knees and a pair of gaiters, so no need for over trousers in most cases. in an emergency situation, you can make a rain or sun shelter on open ground very quickly. Having a bright or hi vis item of clothing or gear is good for easier spotting by search and rescue teams or helicopters. With a poncho just add 6 stakes and some para cord and you are fully prepared. In a high wind situation ground stake one centre loop/grommet from the shortest width, facing into the wind with the full length of the poncho behind you. then pull it tight via the opposite centre loop/grommet, attach a cut branch or trekking pole to it, V guy line and stake it out  then  pull out and stake the two corner loops/grommets either side of the support pole/branch. Place the surplus poncho in at the sides, tie up the hood to weather proof, to end up with a plow shaped aerodynamic shelter that will withstand 60+ mph winds no problem, and it will have taken you less than a minute to erect and get out of the muck and bullets! I'm ex military and I've continued to use them after my service for over 30 years and have backpacked many long distance trails carrying two. One for wearing and one snapping together to make a fully enclosed spacious ground shelter with the snap studs forming a center doorway that can be used either side, or I get off the ground and use one to make a hammock and one for a tarp set up if there are handy trees about. I also have used Swedish *Fjällräven clothing and gear (*translates to Arctic Fox) and it's always been top quality that I would recommend. As with most things, you get what you pay for, but for anyone on a budget, genuine military surplus is the way to go.
Key Lenny (3 years ago)
Can you do a swedish special and show all the outdoor product that come from sweden, or can you do a fjällräven special? Did you know that fjällräv mean arctic fox in swedish.
A Jolly Hiker (3 years ago)
I almost fjell down when I heard the price.
Romin van der Meiden (3 years ago)
With that poncho you are a walking signaling device. ;))
J K (3 years ago)
Thanks for putting out great videos as always. Your right, a poncho is a must for your kit. I go with military GI surplus ponchos. Under $35, metal gromit holes instead of fabric loops, and of course camo. Button two or more together and you have a shelter.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.