HomeХобби и стильRelated VideosMore From: The Emporium Outdoors

Mil-Tech Poncho Review - includes rain :)

228 ratings | 11926 views
Mil-Tech Poncho Review - includes rain :) Well I had a good weekend for testing my poncho as it rained for 2 days. The Mil-Tech poncho did a great job and saved me from getting cold and wet. I decided to leave my rain jacket at home and use the poncho entirely to see how it would hold up. It's a great piece of equipment and has earned its place as part of my main gear. http://www.sturm-miltec.com/RainGearcatalog.1.html
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (45)
Khartoum (3 days ago)
these are awesome a very versatile piece of gear.
The Emporium Outdoors (3 days ago)
I always carry a poncho of some description - great for some many things.
Richard T (6 months ago)
You SURE this wasn't filmed in Vancouver?! Hahaha Enjoying your videos on a soggy Saturday evening! Cheers mate!
Richard T (6 months ago)
The Emporium All jokes aside - it is technically a temperate rainforest... we get summer droughts and rain periods, but yes, we do get a lot of rain. For example it has rained practically non-stop for the last 24 hours, and not a drizzle, I'm talking solid rain. In fact since New Years I can count on one hand the days it hasn't rained. Yet I'd take the rain over the Californian droughts anytime!
The Emporium Outdoors (6 months ago)
Does it really rain that much in Vancouver? I passed through a few months ago to head to Portland and it looks amazing with the mountains etc.
Cliff Schermer (8 months ago)
👍
The Emporium Outdoors (8 months ago)
🙏
Joe Egnor (10 months ago)
I've had one for several years. Awesome poncho.
The Emporium Outdoors (10 months ago)
Thanks Joe - Good to hear a longer term view of the product!
Ryan Davidson (10 months ago)
I'm looking between this and the Jteng. Is that an English twang I can hear? You sound English at times.
The Emporium Outdoors (10 months ago)
I've not had experience with the Jteng poncho but I can recommend the Mil-Tech. It's a heavier poncho but I like the feel of it and it seems tough. Indeed you are correct - I'm from England originally but have been away since 2009, living in both the USA and now Canada :) Well spotted.
Anlushac11 (11 months ago)
Nice review. Just bought a digital woodland camo one about two weeks ago but have not used it yet.
The Emporium Outdoors (11 months ago)
I think you will be pleased.
BOOSTEDLASER (11 months ago)
So I got mine. ALL the reviews I read said a few things ONLY from Ireland(long shipping) ONLY made in Germany ONLY green Ripstop Mine is Made in China Mine is black Nothing says Germany,anywhere Nothing says Ripstop Came in less then 1 day Did I get a fake from Amazon?
1I2am3Dani4 (7 months ago)
Here in Europe Miltec is known to be quite on the cheapish side, quality and price wise, with just a few exceptions. So the made in China wouldn't surprise me.
BOOSTEDLASER (11 months ago)
That is NOT the website I used. What I got from amazon is American ( importer?) it IS this exact name though hmm odd
BOOSTEDLASER (11 months ago)
Most reviews I have seen,vids and on forums seem to be my version(not saying its bad,no test yet) Yours seems to be the Chinese one. Contacted them 3 days ago, 2 Emails..NO answer yet. I doubt ever
The Emporium Outdoors (11 months ago)
I would contact them via their website http://www.miltec.de/en/contact/ and confirm your suspision. To me it seams a little weird.
Robert Cairns (11 months ago)
Thanks for the great video. I have been looking at this poncho but am undecided. Your video helped me decide to give it a go. Much appreciated! Also, your dog is totally cool, and so relaxed! That's so awesome. What's his/her name?
The Emporium Outdoors (11 months ago)
Hi thanks for the kind comment Robert. My dogs is a female and her name is Esme :)
Ferretti Mao (1 year ago)
Hello, I bought this Poncho yesterday, in a 5.11 Tactical store, here in my country. Greetings from Luxembourg,  to all nature lovers !
Ferretti Mao (1 year ago)
Thanks ;-)
The Emporium Outdoors (1 year ago)
Congratulations! I'm sure it will serve you well! Greetings from Canada!
BOOSTEDLASER (1 year ago)
Favorite poncho 2017? Almost got the mil tec but some reviews say it leaks A LOT in front at the seams
The Emporium Outdoors (1 year ago)
I didn't find it leaked for me but I'm not sure of the overall durability until I have a year or 2 under me using it. It's heavy is my only complaint. For back packing I use a sea to summit silnylon that weighs next to nothing. I'd love a canvas one too, so I could use it as a ground sheet or near a fire and not worry about it getting ruined. Thanks for commenting!
Richard Ar eu (1 year ago)
Love my poncho when I was in the British army, far better than those pre Gortex rubber waterproofs.
The Emporium Outdoors (1 year ago)
LOL - I still use my rubber lined waterproofs I was issued with for power washing my side by side. They work great for short periods.
THENEWWRANGLER (1 year ago)
coolest poncho ever is from wilderness innovations. tarp /poncho/hammock/ amazing wilderness camp chair all in one. Iown two one for edc and one lives in my jeep...prob weigh about the same as that one ..http://wildernessinnovation.com/shelter/personal-survival-shelter/
The Emporium Outdoors (1 year ago)
They look great! They look very versatile!
JPL Siempre Listo (1 year ago)
Good review, under hard conditions are even more realistic, thanks...Regards...
The Emporium Outdoors (1 year ago)
Thanks - It saved my bacon that day - it was very wet :)
ΣΕ ΕΥΧΑΡΙΣΤΩ ΓΙΑ ΤΗΝ ΒΟΗΘΕΙΑ ΠΟΥ ΠΗΡΑ ΑΠΟ ΤΟ ΠΟΛΥ ΟΜΟΡΦΟ ΚΑΙ ΕΠΕΞΗΓΗΜΑΤΙΚΟ ΣΟΥ ΒΙΝΤΕΟ (thank you for the help from your beautiful video)
The Emporium Outdoors (1 year ago)
Είσαι πολύ ευπρόσδεκτος! :)
frank1847 (2 years ago)
Good bit of kit , you could all so use the poncho as a means of collecting rain water for drinking in a survival situation .
The Emporium Outdoors (2 years ago)
That is a very good idea and another great use for a shelter or tarp :)
Mark Young (2 years ago)
Thanks for the review. I have been looking for a poncho with a zip and-or velcro opening at the neck to allow for more ventilation. Did you happen to look at the Snugpack Patrol poncho
The Emporium Outdoors (2 years ago)
I haven't sorry. But I have seen Hazard 4 Poncho and it is beautiful but pricey. Snugpack normally makes good stuff but I have seen some reviews of their recent backpacks that show a drop in quality.
Eric Rosbottom (2 years ago)
As always glad to see another video from you.. I purchased a ripstop nylon poncho http://www.ebay.com/itm/271988819320 from a company called Military1st out of the U.K I use it as my shelter component for my haversack kit... When you have time you should check out http://www.bushcraftoutfitters.com/main.sc They have some really good items, I just ordered the 5X7 Mil spec multi cam tarp cheers from Yellowknife
The Emporium Outdoors (2 years ago)
Hi Eric, thanks for commenting - you always have something good to say :) and good practical advice. I like that the bushcraft outfitters store is a former military man. To me that speaks volumes. Thanks for the link!
Graham De La Haye (2 years ago)
good video, if 2 of you were together with ponchos snap together for a tent will keep you both dry and warm.
The Emporium Outdoors (2 years ago)
Yup - that's one of the benefits of the snaps (or poppers) on the side to allow 2 or more to be connected together. Much easier to keep warm with two for sure :)
Michael Barrie (2 years ago)
Looks like a very peaceful place that you were camping at. Sucks that the weather didn't cooperate. Great video.
The Emporium Outdoors (2 years ago)
It's a very nice spot to trail ride but there are other humans around that interrupt the tranquil setting....unfortunately. However, it was a great weekend to be out riding with friends. :)

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.